

CITY OF EDMONTON

BYLAW 15142

CITY OF EDMONTON WARD BOUNDARIES AND COUNCIL COMPOSITION BYLAW

(CONSOLIDATED ON AUGUST 27, 2019)

THE CITY OF EDMONTON

BYLAW 15142

CITY OF EDMONTON WARD BOUNDARIES AND COUNCIL COMPOSITION BYLAW

Whereas, pursuant to section 143 of the *Municipal Government Act*, R.S.A. 2000, c. M-26, Council by bylaw may specify the number of Councillors that Edmonton City Council will consist of;

And Whereas, pursuant to section 144 of the *Municipal Government Act*, this bylaw must be passed at least 180 days before a general election at which it is to take effect;

And Whereas, pursuant to section 148 of the *Municipal Government Act*, Council may by bylaw divide the city into wards, establish their boundaries and provide that Councillors are nominated and elected by ward;

And Whereas, pursuant to section 149 of the *Municipal Government Act*, this bylaw must be passed at least 180 days before the general election at which it is to take effect;

And Whereas pursuant to section 155 of the *Municipal Government Act*, a Councillor shall have the title of "Councillor" and the chief elected official may be referred to by a title appropriate to the office as directed by Council;

Edmonton City Council enacts:

PART I - PURPOSE, DEFINITIONS AND INTERPRETATION

PURPOSE	1		The purpose of this bylaw is to divide the City of Edmonton into wards, establish ward boundaries, and specify the number of Councillors that will comprise Edmonton City Council.
DEFINITIONS	2		In this bylaw, unless the context otherwise requires:
			(a) "Councillor" does not include the Mayor;
			(b) "Mayor" means the chief elected official under the <i>Municipal Government Act</i> .
RULES FOR INTEPRETATION	3		The marginal notes and headings in this bylaw are for reference purposes only.
PART II - COUNCIL COMPOSITION			
MAYOR	4		The Chief Elected Official for the City of Edmonton shall have the title "Mayor".
13 MEMBERS	5		Edmonton City Council shall consist of thirteen (13) members, twelve Councillors and the Mayor.
TERM AND ELECTION	6	(1)	The term of office of Councillors and the Mayor is governed by the <i>Local Authorities Election Act</i> .
		(2)	Councillors and the Mayor are to be elected in accordance with the <i>Local Authorities Election Act</i> .
PART III - WARDS AND WARD BOUNDARIES			
12 WARDS	7		The City of Edmonton is divided into twelve (12) wards.
BOUNDARIES	8		Ward boundaries are specifically detailed in Schedule A, attached hereto and forming part of this bylaw.
	9		Ward boundaries fall in the centre of roadways or rivers marked as ward boundaries in Schedule A.

ONE COUNCILLOR

PER WARD

10

Candidates for the offices of Councillor shall be nominated for a

specific ward, and one Councillor shall be elected for each ward.

PART IV - GENERAL

REPEALS 11 Bylaw 11388 is repealed.

EFFECTIVE DATE 12 This bylaw takes effect for the General Municipal Election in 2010.

(NOTE: Consolidation made under Section 69 of the Municipal Government Act, R.S.A. 2000, c.M-26 and Bylaw 16620 Section 16, and printed under the City Manager's authority)

Bylaw 15142, passed by Council October 18, 2010

Amendments

Bylaw 17700, October 16, 2017 Bylaw 18892, August 27, 2019